Steering Committee

*Denotes non-voting advisory members.

IOI is governed by a Steering Committee who provide rapid programmatic decision-making support and oversight. The Steering Committee meets monthly with IOI Leadership.

Jochai Ben-Avie
Connect Humanity*

Amy Buckland
Concordia University (Chair)

Joe Deville
Open Book Collective; Mattering Press; Lancaster University

Robert Karanja

Louise Marston
Resolution Foundation

Eunice Mercado-Lara
Open & Equitable Program, Open Research Funders Group

Danil Mikhailov

Omo Oaiya

Lorrayne Porciuncula
Datasphere, Internet & Jurisdiction Policy Network

Amy Sample Ward

Berhan Taye
Independent Researcher

Jeff Ubois
Lever for Change

Governance & Nominating Committee:

This Committee consists of a mix of Steering Committee members and IOI’s Executive Director, and supports IOI leadership in examining and evolving project governance to help execute on IOI’s mission and objectives, as well as leads the nomination and review process for participants in IOI governance. This group currently consists of Amy Buckland, Joe Deville, Omo Oaiya, and Amy Sample Ward.

Financial Oversight Committee:

This Committee supports IOI leadership on ensuring compliance and administration of the organization, providing oversight on financial and organizational items. It is an independent, voting governing body of IOI. This group currently consists of Jochai Ben-Avie, Robert Karanja, Louise Marston, Danil Mikhailov, Lorrayne Porciuncula, Berhan Taye, Jeff Ubois, and Kaitlin Thaney.

Former Steering members:

We are grateful to the following individuals for their past involvement in the development, growth, and stewardship of IOI and ongoing support in championing open infrastructure.

Virginia Barbour
Open Access Australasia

Arianna Becerril
Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México, REDALYC, AmeliCA

Leslie Chan
University of Toronto Scarborough

Raym Crow

Mmaki Jantjies
Telkom SA; University of the Western Cape

Heather Joseph

David Lewis
Indiana University, 2.5% Commitment

Pierre Mounier
Open Edition, OPERAS

Cameron Neylon
Curtin University

Nici Pfeiffer
Center for Open Science

Vanessa Proudman
SPARC Europe

Kristen Ratan
Strategies for Open Science (Stratos)

Danielle Robinson
Code for Science and Society

Mike Roy
Middlebury College

Peg Fowler

Katherine Skinner
Educopia Institute

Greg Tananbaum
Open Research Funders Group

Evviva Weinraub Lajoie
State University of New York at Buffalo

Dan Whaley

Maurice York
Big Ten Academic Alliance

Ina Smith
Academy of Science of South Africa

Lucy Ofiesh

Our special thanks also goes to Nate Angell (Hypothesis), Vanessa Rhinesmith (UCLA), Q McCallum (Solution Q), Saman Goudarzi, Katrina Pugh (Columbia University; AlignConsulting), Heather Staines (DeltaThink), Maggie Jack (Cornell Tech; NYU Tandon), Allison McCartney (Bloomberg), Jessica Klein (, Julia Smith (McClatchy), Teri Wanderi, and many others who have helped support and advance our work.

Community Councils

IOI relies on these groups to represent and bring forward what’s important to key communities IOI serves. These Community Councils reflect IOI’s commitment to stakeholder conversations to inform future strategies for IOI and our attentiveness and responsibility to the needs of key communities IOI serves.

Community Councils are created on an as-needed basis, with participants serving in a non-voting capacity. Core council members are supported for their time and contributions via an honoraria, and term limits are 1-year with option to renew.

Past Community Councils:

Community Oversight Council: Shea Swauger (University of Colorado Denver; Council co-chair); Sarah Lamdan (CUNY Law; council co-chair); Jennie Rose Halperin (Library Futures; core member); Robert Montoya (UCLA; core member)