December 14-16, 2020 | Online

Conference Program //

The Joint Roadmap for Open Science Tools (JROST) Conference is back this December 14-16th.

Two years ago, over 85 participants from 50+ organizations got together in person and online to discuss a collaborative, sustainable future for open research tools. Part of that conversation was anchored in a “Joint Roadmap for Open Science Tools” (the name of the event, or JROST for short), but it represented much more.

This December, we’re proud to bring you the second JROST conference, a virtual event designed to hold space for the community of practitioners building, maintaining, and advocating for open tools to support research and collaboration. That aim was important in 2018, but is even more so today as we navigate a series of global crises that’s both heightening the need and demand for open research but also causing us to evaluate the tools, technologies and infrastructures that make that work possible.

Our theme for this year is “Collaboration in Action”, and will showcase the value and need for working together on open, shared solutions to further research and scholarship, especially in these trying times.

New this year, we have launched a Rapid Response Fund, in support of the JROST community and open technology and infrastructure projects. Awards will be given in amounts ranging from $5,000 to $10,000 USD with the possibility of other gift amounts at the discretion of the program committee. Recipients will be announced at the conference.

Our thanks to Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, ITHAKA, Crossref, and Hypothesis for their generous support for this year's event.

Check out our Conference Program for more on this year's exciting line-up. We hope to see you there.

JROST 2020 Planning Committee:

  • Danielle Robinson, Code for Science & Society
  • Bianca Kramer, Utrecht University
  • Dan Whaley, Hypothesis
  • Heather Staines, Independent Consultant
  • Kristen Ratan, Stratos
  • Iain Hyrnaszkiewicz, PLOS
  • Juan Pablo Alperin, Public Knowledge Project
  • Raym Crow, SPARC
  • Greg Tananbaum, Open Research Funders Group
  • Joe MacArthur, Open Access Button, Right to Research Coalition
  • Vanessa Rhinesmith, UCLA Center for Critical Internet Inquiry
  • Kaitlin Thaney, Invest in Open Infrastructure

Posted by Invest In Open Infrastructure